SLO Symphony: Tchaikovsky & Mozart

French virtuoso violinist Gilles Apap (Arroyo Grande) joins SLO Symphony under the baton of Maestro Andrew Sewell, for a remarkable program of classical favorites, including Brahms’ Serenade No. 1 in D, Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in D, and Mozart’s Symphony No. 40 in G Minor. Gilles is known for his unique approach to music, delivering distinctive performances of the standard classical repertoire combined with genres such as jazz and folk from around the world, merging the borderlines between musical styles. Brahms’ Serenade No.1 was his first attempt at writing a symphony without the pressure of giving it such a title. The result is a beautiful work of over 50 minutes comprising six movements. We will treat the first movement as an Overture for this occasion. Mozart’s haunting masterpiece, Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, whose opening melody weaves a soulful spell around a rising sixth motif, is as recognizable as Sousa’s Stars and Stripes. Gilles Apap needs no introduction to our audience, and we are thrilled to hear his encore performance of Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto. Programs are subject to change.

This concert is sponsored by Peggy Lance Little, Thomas Miller and Pam Dassenko, and Len Jarrott.

Be sure to arrive early for Symphonic Forays, an intimate discussion with Music Director Andrew Sewell and special guests that precedes each concert. Learn more about the evening’s musical selection, composers, and soloists in an up-close-and-personal conversation. Symphonic Forays begins at 6:30 pm and is FREE to all ticket holders! Seating is general admission.

BRAHMS – Serenade No. 1 in D Major, Op. 11
TCHAIKOVSKY – Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 35
MOZART – Symphony No. 4 in G Minor, K. 550

Presented by SLO Symphony


Harold Miossi Hall
Venue Info ›


2 Acts: 50 min each
20 min intermission




Ages 5+